New York and Good Friends

I had the best time this weekend  in New York with Ashlee and Liz, two of my oldest and closest friends. We’ve known each other since 7th grade and although Liz moved to New York, when we see each other it is like no time has passed. I managed to take some great photos (all of Ashlee), so this is more like “Ashlee’s Trip to NY” rather than “Koko’s Trip to NY:”

Ashlee in NY

Ashlee got in a couple of days before me, so when my red eye flight landed at 7AM I headed straight to Liz’s, took a quick nap and then met Ashlee and Liz for lunch at this cute place called Alexandra around the corner.

Alexandra

Liz had to go to work afterwards, so Ashlee and I had the day to do what we wanted… and we did…SHOPPING.

Hour 0

Hour 7

We shopped for 7.5 hours. Liz actually beat us home since we were gone for so long. We walked all over Soho and the West Village and stocked up on new shoes and clothes and necklaces. There is something about shopping on vacation that is dangerous…and Ashlee and I together are a terrible twosome. We actually talk each other INTO purchases instead of OUT of them (I bought a headband/turban… that’s for another post):

Shopping!

We  also ate AMAZING food the whole trip. My favorite meal was brunch at Barbuto, Jonathan Waxman’s restaurant.

Menu and Fresh Olives

I got the L’Uovo al Forno (creamed spinach, polenta, oven baked eggs and parmesan):

Yum!

And Liz got the L’Uovo Pizza (oven baked eggs, salsa verde and pancetta):

Good thing I don’t live in NY… I would come here daily!

Ashlee and I also made time for dinner with our good friend Nia who Ashlee knows from College. We ate at Pulino’s (delicious Italian food).

Nia, Ashlee, Me (yes those are greens on my plate, not just pasta/pizza!)

And yes, if you are reading this and thinking all we did was shop and eat, you are correct.

I was sad to realize when I got home that I didn’t take any photos of me, Ashlee and Liz together. I guess I have to save something for the next trip!

Ashlee and Liz (2011)

The three of us slept a lot and ate a lot. We laughed and talked about when we were 15 and where we thought we were going to be. And what our goals were in life:

Liz and Me (2003)

Liz’s Goal: running a big movie studio (she’s on her way) ;

Me and Ashlee (2004)

Ashlee’s Goal: becoming a big fashion designer (she’s on her way);

Q, Me and the Pups (2010)

And my goal: working in entertainment and marrying Quincy! (this was the one that gave us the most laughs… but that’s a story for another post too!)

It’s so nice to be with old friends because they remind you of where you came from. And you realize that you will always be friends/sisters forever.

10 Comments

Filed under Me, Restaurants, Travel

10 responses to “New York and Good Friends

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday Part 17 | Koko Likes

  2. Pingback: Dinner at Dominick’s | Koko Likes

  3. Pingback: Friday Fashion | Koko Likes

  4. Pingback: Off to Palm Springs | Koko Likes

  5. Liz

    This is the sweetest post. I miss you both so much already. Please come back to me soon. Rheana misses you desperately. She sends face attack kisses and cuddle snores. Love you koks!

  6. Ashlee

    I love this post. And that model in all your pics, she is gorgeous! lol!

    Truly an epic vacation which made me realize that some friendships are closer to a sisterhood!

    Cannot wait to go back every 6 weeks! Love you!

  7. Jess

    LOL This post is so cute!!! I’m glad you girls had a great time. Super jealous of all that amazing looking food. :/ Can’t wait to see yall and catch up!!!

  8. tina

    awww this is so sweet!!!! haha I’m glad you had a good time- tots jealous of the shopping and can’t wait to see what you got!!!!!

    ps the end reminded me of the end of sex and the city! I really can’t believe all of your dreams came true! mine have changed sooooo much! 😉

  9. Awww I LOVE this post Ko. I love you guys. Warms my heart. I think we need to go to a blogger meetup soon hahaha. Dinner or lunch this weekend? Miss you!!! LOVE YO BLOG! xx Ar

Leave a Reply

