Snickerdoodle Blondies

I have been dying to try this recipe since I am semi-obsessed with Snickerdoodle cookies (which doesn’t bode well for me seeing as I also have a cupcake obsession).

Snickerdoodle Blondies

I was pretty heartbroken on Friday when we didn’t have any butter and I couldn’t whip them up. So I had one mission this evening after I got off of work… bake, bake, bake.

And bake I did…and now I have a confession. I may or may not have taken them out of the oven and immediately cut  a piece and eaten it. Even though my recipe very clearly says to wait until cool to cut….I couldn’t wait.

And I loved every last straight-out-of-the-oven bite. They taste exactly like a delicious snickerdoodle cookie except denser and moister (the best part about a chewy cookie right?). And then I waited 5 minutes and had another. This time with raspberries and cool whip. Yup, it was just as good as the first. Highly recommended, I promise you won’t be disappointed (says the girl licking cinnamon and sugar off of her lips).

Snickerdoodle Blondies

Yield: 24 blondies

Prep Time: 15 minutes | Bake Time: 25 to 30 minutes

2-2/3 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg

2 cups packed brown sugar

1 cup (8 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature (*I put mine out on the counter 2 hrs before baking)

2 eggs

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons granulated sugar

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease a 9×13-inch baking pan; set aside.

2. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg in a medium bowl; set aside.

3. Beat together the butter and brown sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, and then the vanilla. Beat, scraping the bowl, until thoroughly combined. On low speed, gradually add the flour mixture until just combined. Give the dough a final stir with a spatula or wooden spoon to make sure the flour is incorporated.

4. Spread the dough evenly into the pan (since the dough is thick and sticky, I used slightly wet hands to pat it down and smoothed out the top with an offset spatula). Combine the granulated sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl and sprinkle evenly over the top of the batter (really pour this on, it is what makes a snickerdoodle taste like one!).

5. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until the surface springs back when gently pressed. Cool completely before cutting. Store in an airtight container at room temperature.

(Recipe from Brown Eyed Baker)

5 Comments

Filed under Baking, Recipe

5 responses to “Snickerdoodle Blondies

  1. Pingback: Super Healthy Snickerdoodle Blondies « Your Vegan Girlfriend

  2. Pingback: Fourth of July BBQ Recap | Koko Likes

  3. Jess

    These are awesomeee! And definitely taste better when they’re cooled down. I originally planned to make these for Regg for his bday and only eat a few myself, but nope…I devoured the whole bunch and MADE myself throw away the last remaining few. Needless to say, I’ve hit the gym extra hard this week.

  4. anjobanjo22

    OMG…I LOVE BOTH OF THESE THINGS! Snickerdoodles? Blondies? I didn’t know it was possible to bring them together! YUM! 🙂

  5. Malia

    This looks AH-mazing! Am going to need to try soon. Thanks for sharing. xoxo, m

Leave a Reply

