Fourth of July BBQ Recap

We had a great Fourth of July BBQ at our house with friends, family and good food (the most important element right?). My mother is the best hostess ever. I just hope that her cooking/baking/hostessing skills are rubbing off on me. She has really taught me the importance of quality ingredients, and the fact that it is likely going to take 5-6 stops before you get everything you need (we seriously stopped at every market possible! Beverly Hills Farmers’ Market, Trader Joe’s, Ralph’s, the Original Farmers Market at 3rd and Fairfax, you name it, we went there).

This was my biggest contribution to the party:

Red Velvet Sheet Cake

I wish I had taken more photos of the food, but by the time I got to the table almost everything was gone! We had burgers, grilled Cuban chicken, a spinach and strawberry salad, mac and cheese, baked beans, and fresh corn salad.

My Plate

Fresh Corn Salad

Mac and Cheese

And for dessert we had a delicious plum crumble that Quincy’s sister Heather brought (and I didn’t snap a pic, I am very upset with myself as it was AMAZING and I have the recipe to share). We also had The Pioneer Woman’s red velvet sheet cake, Snickerdoodle blondies, fresh berries and ice cream!

Red Velvet

Snickerdoodle Blondies

Berries

So delicious! The day started with my newly invented Summer Watermelon Blackberry Slushie along with guacamole and chips by the pool.

Watermelon Blackberry Mint Vodka Slushie (yes I am figuring out a better name for this deliciousness)

 It was almost 90 degrees out, so everyone hopped in the pool, including this rascal:

Bentley in the Pool

He seriously hogged the raft for an hour! He would not get off, it was hilarious!

It was the best fourth that I could ask for (minus Q not being here obviously). I love enjoying great food and drinks with friends. We laughed and talked throughout the afternoon and before I knew it the party was over. Until next year (or maybe Labor Day!).

4 Comments

Filed under Baking, Entertaining, Pets

4 responses to “Fourth of July BBQ Recap

  1. Pingback: Summer Blackberry Watermelon Slushie | Koko Likes

  2. anjobanjo22

    All the food looked amazing! Glad to hear you had such a wonderful 4th of July!

  3. Naomi

    Everything was fantastic!! Once again, I devoured the blondies 🙂

  4. Pat Lyle

    What a great celebration! Big fan of Bentley and would love to have the recipe for the Fresh Corn Salad.
    A. Pat

Leave a Reply

