Summer Blackberry Watermelon Slushie

I promised to share this recipe after the Fourth of July and finally it has arrived! It was a hit at the BBQ and I am proud to say I just sort of made it up! Isn’t it amazing when that happens?

Koko’s Summer Blackberry Watermelon Slushie

Makes 1 large pitcher (about 8 drinks)

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 1/2 cups cut watermelon
  • 1/2 cup blackberries
  • 5 large sprigs of mint
  • 2 cups ice
  • 1 ounce vodka **optional

Directions:

  1. Pour all ingredients into a blender. Blend on medium for 30 seconds or until ingredients begin to mix.  Blend on high for 30 seconds or until ice is crushed.
  2. Serve with a sprig of mint.

The thing I love about this recipe is that each time I made it (we made about three servings), it came out differently. The first time we had more watermelon than blackberries. The second time I poured almost a whole container of blackberries in. And the third time I think I created the perfect mix. You really can’t go wrong with this combination and the measurements should be played with to fit your taste.

It is a really refreshing drink on a hot day and great for a daytime get together. Happy drinking!

Also for some reason I am EXHAUSTED today. I think it’s because I had an two extra cup of coffee at breakfast and was on a caffeine jolt until 5PM today and then I totally crashed. I decided that if I had a cup of coffee at 5 then I would never be able to sleep tonight. So I think it’s an early bedtime for me tonight…like in 5 minutes. Yup 9:15PM and I’m not ashamed!

2 Comments

Filed under Drinks, Entertaining

2 responses to “Summer Blackberry Watermelon Slushie

  1. Sunstan

    A first,,,, going to bed at 9:15, that is!

  2. Pingback: Fourth of July BBQ Recap | Koko Likes

Leave a Reply

