Homemade Hummus

How have I never made my own hummus before? I am baffled. I LOVE hummus and I can pretty much eat it on anything (especially cucumbers). So today I opened up a can of garbanzo beans for another recipe I was trying and I said “Wait a minute, I’m only using 1/4 cup of these, I should make hummus.” And then I said “No, it’s probably really hard and I’m really tired.” But I looked it up online and all the recipes I found had ONE step and it involved the Vitamix. Yup, I was sold.

Homemade Hummus

From this recipe by TheKitchn 

Ingredients:

  • 1 15-oz can of chickpeas, drained
  • 1/2 of a fresh lemon, juiced
  • 1 small clove of garlic, minced finely
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 3 tbsp. tahini
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon finely ground black pepper
  • 1 ounce water – Optional (*I added this to mine to make the texture smoother)
  • 1 teaspoon sumac (*If you don’t have this in your spice drawer, you can use za’atar or leave it out)

Directions:

  1. Combine ingredients in blender until smooth.
  2. If the hummus is a little dry, just add a little more lemon juice or olive oil, a teaspoon at a time, until you have the desired consistency.
  3. Scoop hummus into a serving bowl and sprinkle sumac on top.
  4. Eat!

Oh hello beautiful and delicious homemade hummus! (Sidenote: Yes, I know I need a manicure).

By the way, this bowl was eaten in about 2 minutes…

5 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Recipe

5 responses to “Homemade Hummus

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday Part 6 | Koko Likes

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday Part 5 | Koko Likes

  3. Pingback: A Lamb Burger To Tease the Senses « Cow Tales By a Cowgirl Cook

  4. Pingback: Quick Middle Eastern Pizza | Koko Likes

  5. Sunstan

    Dee ish! And healthy. Sumac! You are getting very exotic w your cooking.

Leave a Reply

