Kale & Farro Salad

I promised this recipe last week, but finally got around to putting it all together! I got the inspiration for this filling salad from my July Foodzie box. We got a small box of this Bluebird Grain Farms Whole Grain Farro and wow it was so delicious. I didn’t really know a lot about farro before, so I did my research. It cooks similarly to brown rice, but has a nutty, richer taste with a little sweetness and it has a high nutritional value (16% protein). I honestly prefer it to brown rice because it has so much more flavor.

Kale & Farro Salad

Makes around 4 cups

Ingredients:

  • 1 head of kale
  • 1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 cup farro
  • pinch of unsweetened coconut flakes (optional)
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Wash and dry kale. Remove the leaves from the stem and tear into strips. Layer onto baking sheet.
  3. Whisk together the toasted sesame oil, olive oil and soy sauce. Pour over kale.
  4. Bake around 20 minutes or until wilted.
  5. At the same time, cook farro in a pot of boiling salted water until tender. (Approximately 30 minutes). Drain well.
  6. Mix the roasted kale and farro together.
  7. You can top this with a bit of unsweetened coconut flakes to add sweetness to the dish.

We ate it as a side dish with fish for dinner and the next day I reheated it and ate it as my lunch. It’s super filling and really rich with flavor. Yum!

5 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Recipe, Salad, Side Dishes

5 responses to “Kale & Farro Salad

  1. Pingback: What’s in the Box? « In Her Chucks

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday Part 3 | Koko Likes

  3. Ashlee

    Wow, that looks delicious! Always love ways to make kale yummy!

  4. You are inspiring me to try farro. I’ve heard so many great things about it and it looks so delicious here!

Leave a Reply

