Roasted Tomato Tartines

I love a good juicy tomato and I love this recipe since the tomatoes are really the star. This recipe was so simple and a great one to have on hand when you need to make a quick dinner – I would serve them next to a big butter lettuce salad.

You may be asking what’s a tartine? A tartine is an open faced sandwich with a spread on top (pretty vague right?). They are popular in France and often served for lunch. I ate these tartines as a late lunch/snack, but think I would make them again for a passed appetizer for a dinner party. Feel free to be creative with the cheese/bread you use. Although I think the combination of the tomatoes and goat cheese on crispy French bread is just perfect.

I love how these roasted tomatoes turned out. They were jam packed with flavor and still a little juicy, which I love. I think I will make them again and use them for toppings for upcoming Caprese sandwiches or even in some eggs for breakfast.

Roasted Tomato Tartine

Makes 8 (Serves 4)

Ingredients:

  • 8 Roma Tomatoes
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil (3 for tomatoes, 1 for dusting the toast)
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 gloves garlic (1 minced, 1 whole without skin)
  • 8 slices rustic French bread (like this one, I got mine at Trader Joe’s)
  • 8 tablespoons goat cheese
  • 4 large fresh basil leaves, chopped

Ingredients!

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degres. Slice tomatoes into halves or quarters (I did quarters since I had large tomatoes). In a medium bowl, toss tomatoes lightly in 3 tablespoons olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper and the minced garlic clove.
  2. Layer a baking sheet with aluminum foil. Spread tomatoes across foil and bake for about 25 minutes (until tomatoes are cooked down).
  3. For the bread, take the unused garlic clove and lightly rub the top of each piece of bread with it (This will create a light garlic taste). Then spread a thin layer of olive oil on each piece of bread and toast until crispy on top (I used the toaster oven and it took 4 minutes).
  4. Once bread is crispy, spread 1 tablespoon of goat cheese on the top of each piece. Top with 2-3 tomatoes and a few small pieces of basil. Sprinkle salt and pepper along top. Serve warm.

Adapted from this recipe from The Kitchn

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Recipe, Sandwiches

2 responses to “Roasted Tomato Tartines

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday Part 7 | Koko Likes

  2. This looks like the perfect summer snack or appetizer. (Or dinner if you eat 15 like I’m pretty sure I would.)

Leave a Reply

