Ultimate Chip Lovers Cookie

Yesterday I was craving a sweet  (what’s new right?)- I really just wanted a simple, easy cookie and I wanted it fast (I was NOT waiting to refrigerate my dough). My favorite go-to quick cookie recipe is from the back of the Nestle Tollhouse bag of chocolate chips. It has never done me wrong.

This time around I wanted to make the cookies a little differently – instead of just putting in the 2 cups of chocolate chips, I put in 1/2 cup butterscotch chips, 1/2 white chocolate chips and 1 cup chocolate chips. The tastes came together perfectly – I especially loved the butterscotch edition, although 1/2 cup was just enough, otherwise they would have overpowered the cookies.

These cookies are so simple to make and great for keeping in the freezer. I have a bunch of my college girlfriends coming into town next weekend and I already know I will be bringing these out for them! PS I wish you all could have heard the 20 minute conversation I had with my mom over what to name these cookies- some suggestions were : Chip-alicous, Chip Loaded, Lots of Chips… it sort of stressed me out, so hopefully my title does the trick 🙂

Ultimate Chip Lovers Cookie

Makes 2 1/2 dozen

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened (leave it on the counter for 30 minutes before you want to bake)
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup butterscotch chips
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Prepare baking sheets with parchment paper or nonstick baking mats. Set aside.
  3. Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a small bowl. Set aside.
  4. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in a large mixing bowl until creamy (about 2 -3 minutes). (*Always over-beat instead of under-beat in this stage of baking.)
  5. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture until just combined. By hand, stir in your chocolate chips, butterscotch chips and white chocolate chips.
  6. Drop dough in 1 1/2 tablespoon balls onto baking sheets.
  7. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Adapted from the recipe on the back of the Nestle Tollhouse Chocolate Chip bag. 

3 Comments

Filed under Baking, Cookies, Recipe

3 responses to “Ultimate Chip Lovers Cookie

  1. Pingback: Random Monday Thoughts | Koko Likes

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday Part 10 | Koko Likes

  3. OMG this looks so good to me right now! *drools*

Leave a Reply

