September 11

(source)

I wasn’t going to do a post on 9/11, because honestly I don’t really know what to say about it. But after watching all of the news coverage about it today, I feel like I can’t just let it go by without saying something since it has impacted me in so many ways.

I was 15 when the towers went down. At 15, I didn’t know that in 10 years my whole life would be so deeply impacted by the attacks. Ten years ago, I was sad and confused and angry, but didn’t have any direct connection with what was happening. Today I am still sad and confused and angry, but I am also so proud to stand by Q who fights everyday to make sure that this sort of thing never happens again. These attacks have shaped the rest of my life.

When we are reminded of the horror that happened that day, it makes us even more appreciative of what servicemen and women do everyday. Q has dedicated his life to fight for us as Americans. He has left me, his home, his friends and his family for a year to protect us. For the next 20 years, we will move every 3 years, he will deploy many more times and he will put his life on the line for us over and over again.

I couldn’t be prouder of him and what he is doing and as horrible as this day is, I love that it makes us as a country recognize that our men and women are still over there and fighting for us. I am happy that on this day we can all join together and be thankful for the sacrifices he and everyone else make all year long.

2 Comments

Filed under Army, Deployment

2 responses to “September 11

  1. Pat Lyle

    Beautifully said.

Leave a Reply

