Coriander Chicken Patties

After a quick work trip to San Francisco, I am back and with a recipe that I love. I have never been a red meat girl (it breaks Q’s heart). I will gladly chose fish or chicken over a steak and on a rare occasion I will eat a burger. But chicken gets boring after a little while. When my mom and I made these coriander chicken patties for dinner the other night, I instantly fell in love with their flavor, sort of a Moroccan chicken.

We paired these patties with a simple salad (baby romaine lettuce, pomegranate seeds, pistachios and oranges) and topped it with a pomegranate vinaigrette (recipe to come). The combination was light and the meal was super healthy (greens and chicken is the way to go right?). I like this recipe for an alternative choice to a burger at a red meat heavy BBQ. I would easily put these on a bun and enjoy, but just keep in mind the patties are more like the size of a slider than a burger, so make sure to grab some small buns!

Coriander Chicken Patties

Makes 16 patties

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground chicken (dark meat)
  • 1 small shallot, finely chopped
  • 5 mint leaves, finely chopped
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro, trimmed from stems and finely chopped
  • 2 teaspoons freshly grated ginger root
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon Pomegranate Molasses
  • 1 teaspoon Garam Masala
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon fresh ground pepper
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl. combine all of your ingredients except the olive oil and mix well using your hands (the easiest way).
  3. Separate meat into 16 1-ounce balls and with your hands, form them into round patties.
  4. Heat a nonstick griddle on high and add your olive oil. Heat until oil glistens and add patties to the griddle. Cook for 3-4 minutes and flip patties. Cook for an additional 3-4 minutes until both sides are golden.
  5. Transfer patties to a baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes or until cooked through.
  6. Serve warm on a bun on over a simple salad.

Adapted from 2BeStatisfied

6 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Main Course, Recipe

6 responses to “Coriander Chicken Patties

  1. Pingback: Pomegranate Vinaigrette | Koko Likes

  2. These look delicious! I’m going to make these sometime soon! Thanks for sharing the recipe! πŸ™‚

  3. These look wonderful! I love cilantro and garam marsala in anything makes my day. Yours turned out so beautiful.

  4. These look great!! I’m going to have to give them a try for the meat-eating military man. πŸ™‚ I bet I could substitute the meat for lentils for me! Great photos, too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

