A Visit From Tina

Tina and I were the best of friends in college (see shenanigans below). She moved to San Francisco and then back to her hometown of Chicago after school, making our girl hang time very rare. I was so excited that she was coming down to LA to be with me for a quick trip before she heads up to San Francisco for a work trip.

Tina and Koko College Memories:

Last night I picked Tina up from the airport, we grabbed a quick bite at Real Food Daily, caught up on the couch with some wine and then went to sleep to rest up for today. We woke up early and headed to Whole Foods for an almond milk latte (Tina turned me on to this new discovery and it is officially my new favorite drink).

Yes, we are both way cuter now then we were in college 🙂

We then decided to take a Physique 57 class. Tina teaches a similar (*but better*) class in Chicago called The Daily Method and  is opening up her own studio in December. If I lived in Chicago, I would be there everyday and not just because Tina is my bestie. I’ve never done a barre class before and was excited to try something new (and was also sort of embarrassed being next to someone as good as Tina). The Physique class was a mixture of weights, core work, ballet barre work and some cardio moves all in one. You definitely are never bored and I loved trying something new (and will hopefully be trying many more even though they cost $28 a class…).

Before:

After:

Tina recently discovered she was allergic to wheat and dairy and was already a vegetarian, so she is now pretty much vegan. Thanks to a suggestion from my good friend Arielle (a great vegan blogger), I took Tina to Hugo’s for lunch since it has a great vegan selection. I got a massive lentil/brown rice wrap and Tina got a veggie burger, both were delicious (and not just in a vegan way…).

After lunch, we went to Target to stock up on some Halloween goodies for Q (and I accidentally stocked up on LOTS of care package supplies forgetting he is coming home to visit in 6 weeks and I shouldn’t be sending packages to him while he is home!). I then took Tina to my favorite Thai massage place, Thai Sabai, which was offering a spa week deal (a 90 minute massage for $50). When I left, I felt refreshed and stretched out. When Tina walked out she said she felt like someone hit her in the back with a hammer and she would be bruised for days… I told her that meant she needed it more than ever!

Post Massage (Tina = in pain, Me = happy as a clam):

We came home, showered and changed and headed to Magnolia for dinner with our college sorority sister Taylor. The last time I saw Taylor was 4 years ago when she graduated from college, but it honestly could have been yesterday. The three of us had such a good time catching up on each other’s lives and reminiscing about college (we all think it is crazy that I am dating Q, who belonged to a fraternity that was directly across the street from our sorority). We ended up staying at the restaurant for 4 hours!

We just got back and are settling in for our last day together tomorrow. Hope everyone had a great Friday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Exercise, Review

Leave a Reply

