Deployment: 6 Months In

We are finally at the half way mark, time seriously flies by. I know I say this a lot, but it is hard to believe Q has been gone 6 months already. It feels like just yesterday that we were saying the final “I love you’s” and “goodbyes.”

Feelings: I am actually really excited! We can finally count down the days until Q comes home for his 2 week R&R (rest and relaxation). We have a date that he should be home at the end of November and we have already planned a trip to DC to visit some friends and one of his soldiers. Knowing how soon we get to see each other makes everyday go by quicker. This has been the easiest part of deployment by far because of the upcoming trip. I think the hardest part will be once he leaves and goes back after his R&R…

Communication: Once Q moved into his new area, they set up phones and internet right away and we were able to get back to our twice a day phone calls and Skype a few times a week. It’s so fun to actually talk to each other face to face (even with a 5 second time delay) and laugh a lot. (Is it bad that I am jealous of his sweet tan?).

Care Packages Sent So Far: 25 (approximately)

Favorite Care Packages Sent: The last 3 which were filled with Halloween candy/toys/costumes. Halloween is my favorite holiday (not only because it is my birthday), but because of how much fun it is. I sent Q bags of candy corn, fake fangs, gooey eyeballs and black and orange cookies to celebrate.

Number of Birthdays Missed Because of Army Stuff: The past 3.

Number of Ways He is Going to Make it Up to Me: TBD. Pressure is on.

4 Comments

Filed under Army, Deployment

4 responses to “Deployment: 6 Months In

  1. Congrats on getting to the half-way point! We just made it there last month and it felt so good to know we had survived so far! I love the Skype photos – I always end up getting ones where we are making a goofy face! I hope the rest of the deployment goes by just as quickly!

  2. tina

    omg, love the care package fact 😉

    and that your fav ones are the ones i helped with!!!!

    love YOU!

  3. This makes me so happy! R&R will be here before you know it.

  4. Jess

    LMAO at “TBD”…I have no doubt he will come through! 🙂

Leave a Reply

